The rapid globalisation throughout the last few decades has also brought offshoring increasingly into focus. Increasing cost pressure in order to remain competitive, as well as the opportunities offered by digitalisation, drive this trend even further in some cases. This strategy can provide internationally operating companies with many advantages from which they can profit in the long term. However, offshoring involves risks that you as a company should definitely take into account.

In this article we will explain to you what exactly offshoring is and what advantages and disadvantages it can provide. Afterwards, you will be well informed to be able to work towards a well-founded, initial decision.

What does offshoring mean?

In German, offshoring stands for the relocation of certain business areas, functions, or processes abroad. A classic case in recent decades, for example, was to move call centers abroad through offshoring. Customers from Germany are still able to call a local number, but are then forwarded to the call center abroad. The customer is not aware of this, because everything happens in the background.

The term offshoring is often confused with outsourcing. Whereas with offshoring everything remains in the hands of the company, with outsourcing these functions are transferred to an external service provider, which can also be located abroad. So if a company moves an area abroad but continues to manage it directly, this is called offshoring. This usually happens through a subsidiary in the target country.

How does offshoring work?

This is often a year-long undertaking that needs to be well planned by the company. After all, a considerable part of the business usually has to be relocated. The first step is to identify the appropriate area that is suitable for offshoring. Often these are services such as the previously mentioned call centre, or software development and IT services.

Responsibility for these offshoring areas often remains at headquarters. As mentioned above, a subsidiary is a suitable form of business, but joint ventures are also a popular option in order to reduce risk. With this option the choice of partner is a decisive factor in achieving a sustainable and successful result.

What are the reasons for offshoring?

The internationalization of the business world is one of the main drivers for offshoring. Companies from China or India pay only a fraction of the labour costs, which consequently makes it increasingly difficult for DACH companies to remain competitive in the long run in terms of costs. So most companies initially pursue a reduction in costs with offshoring. But there are other reasons that can play a role in this decision.

One of these is the opening up of new markets, both for additional sales and on the procurement side. The company can benefit directly from local growth opportunities. It may also be possible to circumvent trade barriers and reduce export costs. 

Finally, there are also tax reasons that make this strategy particularly attractive. Taxes are often lower and special economic zones lure companies with subsidies and tax breaks. Especially companies from the DACH region can benefit thanks to offshoring in Europe or Asia. As a long-standing and reliable experts, we advise you comprehensively on the background, facts and all necessary steps

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

There are numerous advantages that can help companies strengthen their competitiveness in the long term. Possible disadvantages should always be kept in mind.

Advantages of relocating abroad

– Reduction of costs

– Access to many skilled workers

– Realisation of growth

– Improvement of the supply chain

– Government support

Reduction of costs

As mentioned multiple times above, one of the most important advantages of offshoring is the reduction of costs of all kinds. This is exactly why many companies move their services, development or production abroad to benefit from the favourable mix of labour pool, market and capital.

Access to many skilled workers

The shortage of skilled labour in our country is currently one of the biggest challenges to remaining competitive and achieving a maintainable growth. In contrast, there are millions of skilled workers available in Eastern Europe or Asia, most of whom are also excellently trained. India, for example, shines with excellent software developers who, moreover, have historically been fully proficient in English. 

Realizing growth

Relocation abroad is often the first step towards building up further business in the target country. After all, the subsidiary or joint venture already has local representation. Unlike in western countries, typical offshoring locations shine with high economic growth and many opportunities. You can gain an early foothold through offshoring to benefit from these growth opportunities.

Improve logistics

Additionally, you also simplify the logistical effort, especially if you want to produce, procure or sell in the target country. Often there are strict import and export regulations that can be dealt with more quickly and in a more targeted manner through local representation. Local employees are more familiar with them and can deal directly with the authorities without the need for translators, for example, or misunderstandings paralyzing the processes.

State support

It is not unusual for classic offshoring countries to want to attract companies to boost their own economies. As a means of doing so, they sometimes give attractive tax rebates or subsidies, for example, to set up an office, a factory, or a branch. In many countries there are separate economic zones that make it easier for international companies to implement their business activities in a more targeted manner.

Disadvantages due to relocation abroad

– Negative perception

– Higher communication costs

– Legal and organisational challenges

Negative perception

Offshoring is often accompanied by negative (public) perception. The relocation of jobs abroad is always a sensitive issue that requires good PR to reduce the negative effects. Therefore, even during the planning of offshoring projects, seeking the help of experts who have a lot of experience in communicating such topics should be prioritized.

Higher communication costs

The office or the new production facility abroad is often located in a different time zone and local employees are not all fluent in German/English. In practice, this can lead to communication difficulties, misunderstandings and longer lead times. Therefore, it is essential to streamline and standardize communication channels.

Legal and organisational challenges

While the laws in offshore countries are mostly favorable for employers, there are also many local peculiarities in labor law to consider. In addition, the legal situation as well as legal certainty is not always entirely transparent for companies. Other aspects, for example in organization, data security and the protection of intellectual property could also present problems. This possibility of reduced planning security, especially compared to the DACH countries, must always be kept in mind and ideally advised on by specialists who are well acquainted with the destination. 

Offshoring vs. outsourcing, farshoring, nearshoring and onshoring: these are the differences

Whereas in offshoring the company itself provides the service, for example through a subsidiary or a joint venture, in outsourcing it passes on the provision of the service to an external service provider. This service provider is usually located abroad, but this is not a necessary condition.

Farshoring and nearshoring both belong to offshoring by definition but specify the geographical region more precisely. A DACH company seeking to relocate to Eastern Europe is nearshoring. Asia, on the other hand, would be classified as farshoring. Onshoring also involves relocation, but to a more favorable location within the country in which the company has its headquarters, for example.

How to make offshoring a success

Offshoring is a complex topic that brings with it many advantages but also risks. If a company wants to reduce its costs in the long term, offshoring is usually the ideal way to do so. Proper planning is one of the most essential conditions for success right from the start. 

Usually, the first step is to identify the right area for offshoring. Depending on which area it is, it is then necessary to find the right target country. A detailed consultation with an experienced company can help you to overcome this and all other challenges. For example, a professional interim management company knows all the framework conditions, or the way to communicate efficiently, and can advise you on local legal regulations and specifics.

Conclusion

Offshoring, nowadays, is an important instrument to reduce costs, find skilled labor and benefit from other aspects of globalization. It allows companies to build sustainable and cost-effective structures that are usually not possible in form and scale domestically. However, it is also necessary to master all challenges to profit from these sustainable advantages.

With the right partner at your side, successful offshoring is much easier, faster and minimizes risk. Our experienced interim managers will help you take your first step, for example, to Asia. You can benefit directly from our local interim managers with many years of expertise – in the region. 

Contact us now and benefit from our many years of expertise in precisely these areas.

Share This

Die rasante Globalisierung der letzten Jahrzehnte hat auch das Offshoring immer weiter in den Fokus gerückt. Steigender Kostendruck, um wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben, sowie die Möglichkeiten durch Digitalisierung treiben diesen Trend teilweise sogar noch weiter an. Dabei kann diese Strategie international agierenden Unternehmen viele Vorteile verschaffen, von denen sie nachhaltig profitieren können. Allerdings birgt Offshoring auch Risiken, die Sie als Unternehmen unbedingt berücksichtigen sollten.

Wir erklären Ihnen in diesem Artikel was genau Offshoring, die sogenannte Auslandsverlagerung, ist und welche Vor- und Nachteile es Ihnen bieten kann. Sie sind danach bestens informiert um auf eine fundierte, erste Entscheidung hinarbeiten zu können.

Was bedeutet Offshoring?

Im Deutschen steht Offshoring für die Auslandsverlagerung von bestimmten Geschäftsbereichen, Funktionen oder Prozessen. Ein klassischer Fall der letzten Jahrzehnte war zum Beispiel, das eigene Callcenter durch Offshoring ins Ausland zu verlegen. Kunden aus dem Inland rufen dabei nach wie vor eine lokale Nummer an, werden dann jedoch an das Callcenter im Ausland weitergeleitet. Davon bekommt der Kunde selbst erst einmal nichts mit, denn das geschieht für ihn alles unsichtbar im Hintergrund.

Beim Begriff Offshoring kommt es oft zu Verwechslungen mit dem Outsourcing. Während beim Offshoring alles in Händen des Unternehmens bleibt, werden beim Outsourcing diese Funktion an einen externen Dienstleister abgetreten, der sich auch im Ausland befinden kann. Wenn ein Unternehmen also einen Bereich ins Ausland verlegt, diesen aber weiterhin selbst direkt verwaltet, spricht man von Offshoring. Meistens geschieht das über ein Tochterunternehmen im Zielland.

Wie funktioniert Offshoring?

Es handelt sich hierbei oftmals um ein jahrelanges Unterfangen, das vom Unternehmen gut zu planen ist. Schliesslich muss in der Regel ein nicht unerheblicher Teil des Geschäfts verlegt werden. Zunächst muss der passende Bereich identifiziert werden, der sich für das Offshoring eignet. Oft handelt es sich hierbei um Dienstleistungen wie zum Beispiel das zuvor erwähnte Callcenter, aber auch Softwareentwicklungen und IT-Services sind ein beliebte Bereiche.

Die Verantwortung für diese Offshoring-Bereiche bleibt oftmals im Hauptsitz. Als Geschäftsform eignet sich wie zuvor erwähnt ein Tochterunternehmen, aber auch Joint-Ventures sind beliebt, um das Risiko zu reduzieren. Dabei ist die Partnerwahl ein entscheidender Faktor, um ein nachhaltiges und erfolgreiches Ergebnis zu erzielen.

Was sind die Gründe für Offshoring?

Die Internationalisierung der Geschäftswelt ist einer der wesentlichen Antreiber für die Auslandsverlagerung. Unternehmen aus China oder Indien bezahlen nur einen Bruchteil der Arbeitskosten, was es folglich für DACH-Unternehmen immer schwieriger macht, auf Dauer und kostenseitig wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Die meisten Unternehmen verfolgen also zunächst eine Reduktion der Kosten als Hauptziel. Doch es gibt noch andere Gründe, die bei dieser Entscheidung eine Rolle spielen können.

Dazu gehört etwa die Erschliessung neuer Märkte, sowohl für den zusätzlichen Absatz als auch auf Seiten Beschaffung. Dabei kann das Unternehmen direkt von den örtlichen Wachstumsmöglichkeiten profitieren. Auch kann es möglich sein etwelche Handelsschranken auf diese Weise zu umgehen, sowie Kosten für den Export zu reduzieren. 

Letztlich gibt es aber auch steuerliche Gründe, die diese Strategie besonders attraktiv machen. Oft sind die Abgaben niedriger und Sonderwirtschaftszonen locken Unternehmen mit Subventionen und Steuererleichterungen. Besonders Unternehmen aus dem DACH-Raum können dank Offshoring in Europa oder Asien profitieren. Als langjähriger und zuverlässiger Experte beraten wir Sie umfassend zu Hintergründen, Fakten und allen notwendigen Schritten.

Was sind die Vor- und Nachteile?

Es ergeben sich daraus zahlreiche Vorteile, die Unternehmen dabei helfen können, ihre Wettbewerbsfähigkeit langfristig zu stärken. Mögliche Nachteile sollten Sie dabei immer im Blick behalten.

Vorteile durch die Auslandsverlagerung

  • Reduzierung von Kosten
  • Zugriff auf viele Fachkräfte
  • Realisierung von Wachstum
  • Verbesserung der Supply Chain
  • Staatliche Förderung

Reduzierung von Kosten

Wie bereits mehrmals erwähnt ist einer der wichtigsten Vorteile beim Offshoring die Reduktion von Kosten aller Art. Genau aus diesem Grund verlagern viele Unternehmen ihre Dienstleistungen, Entwicklung oder Produktion ins Ausland, um vom günstigen Mix aus Arbeitkräftepool, Markt und Kapital zu profitieren.

Zugriff auf viele Fachkräfte

Der hiesige Fachkräftemangel ist derzeit eine der grössten Herausforderungen, um wettbewerbsfähig bleiben und ein gewisses Wachstum erzielen zu können – ähnlich zu einem Deckel auf der PfanneIn Ländern Osteuropas oder Asiens stehen hingegen Millionen meist auch exzellent ausgebildeter Fachkräfte zur Verfügung. So glänzt beispielsweise Indien mit hervorragenden Softwareentwicklern, die darüber hinaus historisch die Englische Sprache vollumfänglich beherrschen. 

Realisierung von Wachstum

Die Auslandsverlagerung ist auch nicht selten der erste Schritt um weiteres Geschäft im Zielland aufzubauen. Schliesslich hat man bereits mit dem Tochterunternehmen bzw. Joint-Venture eine Vertretung vor Ort. Anders als in westlichen Ländern glänzen typische Offshoring-Locations mit hohem Wirtschaftswachstum und vielen Chancen. Sie können durch Offshoring frühzeitig Fuss fassen, um von diesen Wachstumschancen zu profitieren.

Verbesserung der Logistik

Nebenbei vereinfachen Sie aber auch den logistischen Aufwand, besonders wenn Sie im Zielland produzieren, beschaffen oder absetzen möchten. Oftmals gibt es strikte Import- und Exportbestimmungen, die durch eine Vertretung vor Ort schneller und zielgerichteter erledigt werden können. Lokale Mitarbeiter kennen sich besser damit aus und können direkt mit den Behörden in Kontakt treten, ohne dass zum Beispiel Übersetzer notwendig sind oder Missverständnisse die Prozesse lahmlegen.

Staatliche Förderung

Nicht selten möchten klassische Offshoring-Länder auch Unternehmen anlocken, um die eigene Wirtschaft anzukurbeln. Als Mittel dazu geben sie teils attraktive Steuernachlässe oder Subventionen, zum Beispiel um ein Büro, eine Fabrik, oder eine Niederlassung aufzubauen. In vielen Ländern finden sich gesonderte Wirtschaftszonen, die es internationalen Unternehmen erleichtern, ihre Geschäftstätigkeiten noch gezielter umzusetzen.

Nachteile durch die Auslandsverlagerung

  • Negative Wahrnehmung
  • Höherer Kommunikationsaufwand
  • Rechtliche und organisatorische Herausforderungen

Negative Wahrnehmung

Ein Offshoring geht nicht selten mit einer negativen (öffentlichen) Wahrnehmung einher. Die Verlagerung von Arbeitsplätzen ins Ausland ist immer ein heikles Thema, das eine gute PR voraussetzt, um die negative Effekte zu reduzieren. Deswegen sollte auch bereits bei der Planung von Offshoring Projekten berücksichtigt werden, die Hilfe von Experten in Anspruch nehmen zu wollen, welche viel Erfahrung bei der Kommunikation solcher Themen vorweisen können.

Höherer Kommunikationsaufwand

Das Büro oder die neue Produktion im Ausland liegt oft in einer anderen Zeitzone und lokale Mitarbeitende sind zudem nicht alle der deutschen/englischen Sprache mächtig. In der Praxis kann das zu Kommunikationsschwierigkeiten, Missverständnissen und höheren Durchlaufzeiten führen. Deswegen ist es unabdingbar, die Kommunikationswege zu straffen und zu vereinheitlichen.

Rechtliche und organisatorische Herausforderungen

Zwar sind die Gesetze in Offshore-Ländern meistens günstig für Arbeitgeber, doch es gilt auch viele lokale Besonderheiten im Arbeitsrecht zu beachten. Zudem ist die rechtliche Lage sowie die Rechtssicherheit für Unternehmen nicht immer ganz transparent. Weitere Aspekte, zum Beispiel in der Organisation, Datensicherheit und der Schutz des geistigen Eigentums könnten Sie ebenfalls vor Probleme stellen. Diese, speziell gegenüber den DACH Ländern, möglicherweise reduzierte Planungssicherheit muss immer bewusst sein und wird idealerweise durch Spezialisten beraten, welche mit der Destination gut vertraut sind. 

Offshoring vs. Outsourcing, Farshoring, Nearshoring und Onshoring: Das sind die Unterschiede

Während das Unternehmen beim Offshoring selbst die Leistung erbringt, beispielsweise durch ein Tochterunternehmen oder ein Joint-Venture, gibt es beim Outsourcing die Erbringung an einen externen Dienstleister ab. Dieser befindet sich meist im Ausland, was begrifflich aber keine notwendige Bedingung ist.

Farshoring und Nearshoring gehören definitionsgemäss beide zum Offshoring, spezifizieren jedoch die geografische Region etwas genauer. Ein DACH-Unternehmen, das eine Auslandsverlagerung nach Osteuropa anstrebt, betreibt Nearshoring. Asien dagegen wäre eher dem Farshoring zuzuordnen. Beim Onshoring verlagert man ebenfalls, jedoch an einen günstigeren Standort innerhalb des Landes in welchem die Unternehmung beispielsweise ihren Hauptsitz hat.

So gelingt das Offshoring

Offshoring ist ein komplexes Thema, das mit vielen Vorteilen aber auch Risiken mit sich bringt. Wenn ein Unternehmen seine Kosten nachhaltig senken möchte, dann ist Offshoring meistens der ideale Weg dafür. Die saubere Planung ist von Anfang an eine der wesentlichsten Bedingungen zum Erfolg.  –.

Üblicherweise wird damit begonnen, den richtigen Bereich für das Offshoring zu identifizieren. Je nachdem um welchen Bereich es sich dabei handelt, gilt es anschliessend das richtige Zielland zu finden. Eine ausführliche Beratung durch ein erfahrenes Unternehmen kann Ihnen helfen, diese und alle weiteren Herausforderungen zu meistern. Ein professionelles Interim-Management kennt beispielsweise alle Rahmenbedingungen, oder den Weg für eine effiziente Kommunikation und kann Sie zu lokalen rechtlichen Vorschriften und Besonderheiten beraten.

Fazit

Offshoring ist heutzutage ein wichtiges Instrument, um Kosten zu senken, Fachkräfte zu finden und von weiteren Aspekten der Globalisierung zu profitieren. Es erlaubt Unternehmen nachhaltige und kostengünstige Strukturen aufzubauen, die im Inland in dieser Form meistens nicht möglich sind. Jedoch gilt es auch, alle Herausforderungen zu meistern, um von diesen nachhaltig Vorteilen profitieren zu können.

Mit dem richtigen Partner an Ihrer Seite gelingt ein erfolgreiches Offshoring wesentlich einfacher, schneller und risikominimiert. Unsere erfahrenen Interim-Manager helfen Ihnen dabei, Ihren ersten Schritt zum Beispiel nach Asien zu machen.15-25 Jahre Expertise jedes Interim Managers – und vor Ort – können Sie sich direkt zu Nutzen machen. 

Nehmen Sie jetzt Kontakt mit uns auf und profitieren Sie von unserer langjährigen Expertise in genau diesen Bereichen.

Share This